CWEP BOARD MEETING MINUTES

June 12, 2023

The Carthage Water & Electric Plant Board met in regular session June 12, 2023, 2:00 p.m. at the CWEP Office, 627 W Centennial, Carthage, MO.

Board.

☑ Brian Schmidt - Member☑ Pat Goff – Member☑ G. Stephen Beimdiek- Member		
☐ Jason Choate-Director of Water Services ☐ Kelli Nugent/CFO ☐ Kevin Emery-Director of Power Services ☐ Stephanie Howard-Director of Business & ED		
President Lambeth called the meeting to order at 2:01 p.m.		
APPROVAL OF MINUTES:		
A motion by Ross and seconded by Collier to approve the minutes of the regular meeting of April 20, 2023, as presented, passed unanimously.		
COMMITTEE REPORTS: None.		
CITIZENS PARTICIPATION PERIOD: None.		
OLD BUISINESS: None.		
NEW BUSINESS:		

DISCUSSION OF STATUS OF CWEP FY 24 BUDGET AND COMPENSATION

General Manager Bryant gave an overview and provided the timeline of events that have occurred over the past couple of months with the city regarding the FY 24 Budget and compensation review. The Board discussed wages, APPA and AWWA comparison data, indices regarding cost per worker hour, and percentage of compensation to overall expenses. The Board also discussed CWEP's recent RP3 award, reliability indices, and fear of turnover if employees are not properly compensated for their work.

A motion by Goff and seconded by Beimdiek to approve the actions previously taken by the Board regarding compensation and to ratify the individual wage schedule for all CWEP employees, passed unanimously.

The Board expressed interest in working with the Mayor and City Council liaison to improve the ordinance currently in place governing compensation.

STAFF REPORTS: None.

BOARD MEMBER COMMENTS:

Board Member Goff thanked staff for all their hard work in a short amount of time.

At 2:36pm a motion was made by Ross to enter a closed session pursuant to Section 610.021(1) of the Sunshine Law. Goff seconded the motion and a roll call vote was taken:

Beimdiek: Aye
Collier: Aye
Goff: Aye
Lambeth: Aye
Ross: Aye
Schmidt: Absent

The meeting then entered closed session.

At 3:48 the meeting reconvened in open session.

At 3:49, a motion by Beimdiek and seconded by Ross to adjourn the meeting, passed unanimously.

	President – Danny Lambeth	
Secretary – Darren Collier	_	